Close this search box.

Maryland State


Smith N. Stathem, Jr., P.P., Memorial Safety Award

Submission Deadline: May 1

Maryland Sate Firemen's Association logo

Award Purpose:

Recognition of an individual’s contributions toward firefighter / EMS safety.

Award Sponsor:

The family of Smith N. Stathem, Jr., “Smitty” as he was affectionately known, was a Past President of the MSFA, Past President of the Baltimore County Volunteer Firemen’s Association, and Past Chief of the Pikesville Volunteer Fire Company.

Award Administration:

Award Description:

The Smith N. Stathem, Jr. Memorial Safety Award is established in 1998 by the MSFA Safety Committee and the family of MSFA Past President Stathem. The award was accepted by the MSFA Executive Committee in 1997. This award is to be presented each year at the Annual MSFA Convention and Conference to an individual who does the most to promote firefighter / EMS safety within his/her department/company. The award is for an individual effort and, therefore, submission of the entry must be for one individual rather than a group effort. The intent of the award is to promote safety within the member departments and to encourage the safety officer program. The trophy is held for one year and relinquished at the subsequent MSFA Convention and Conference. At that time, the past-year recipient will receive an individual plaque for permanent possession.

Award Rules

  1. The nominee must be a member of an organization that is a member of the MSFA.
  2. The submission must be on the official MSFA Nomination Form and include the name and contact information on the person recommending the nominee in the space provided. The Company Chief or President must sign the “endorsed by” line of the form.
  3. The nomination must include complete detailed information on the efforts performed by the individual during the previous calendar year. Supporting exhibits and documentation must be submitted in detail.
  4. The nomination package must be submitted to the MSFA Safety Committee on later than May 1st.
  5. Judges appointed by the Safety Committee, shall be comprised of non-affiliated representatives from the safety industry.
  6. All nominations are subject to investigation by the Safety Committee and Judges.
  7. A Safety Committee member can nominate any member of MSFA.
  8. MSFA Safety Committee members are not eligible to be nominated for the award.
  9. Submit your nominations to:

MSFA Safety Committee
11418 Quillin Way
Berlin, MD 21811