Close this search box.

Maryland State


Residential Sprinkler Initiative Committee

The Residential Sprinkler Initiative Committee supports and assists local fire service and governmental groups in establishing requirements for residential fire sprinkler systems in new one – and two-family dwellings.

The Committee is providing education to personnel from our member companies, governmental agencies, legislators, builders, developers, realtors, and citizens regarding the facts about residential fire sprinklers and the advantages they offer.

Our partners in this effort include the Office of the Maryland State Fire Marshal, the Maryland Fire Chiefs Association, the Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute (MFRI), the Fire Prevention Committee of the Maryland State Firemen’s Association, the NFPA, the NFFF, the NFSA, and most county firefighter associations.

Committee Achivements

HB 366 and SB 602 (2012) were signed into law by Governor O’Malley and became effective on October 1, 2012. This law strengthens the residential fire sprinkler requirements for new homes and will disallow local jurisdictions from opting out of residential fire sprinkler provisions of the Maryland Building Performance Standards.

A bill was introduced in the 2016 Legislative Session to allow counties to “opt-out” of the residential fire sprinkler requirements of the 2015 International Residential Code as adopted for the state by the DHCD. With the help of the Maryland Fire Service, we were able to keep this bill from ever making it to the floor of either house of the legislature. The MSFA Legislative Committee and officers, the Maryland Fire Chiefs, the Office of the Maryland State Fire Marshal, the NFPA, the NFFF, and some county associations were leading the efforts to squash this bill.

Committee meetings are held periodically and are scheduled about a month ahead.

We can protect our fire safety laws if we all come together. Certainly, we will continue to battle the lack of knowledge of some legislators in future sessions. We must and we will be prepared to meet this challenge. A potential challenge has risen in the 2019 Legislative session which the MSFA is watching closely.
Residential Sprinkler Initiative

Committee Members

Rose Schurg

Anna Dobbins

Sharon Truitt

Karen Carpenter Shifflett

Dale Underwood

Lesa Free

Joshua Austin-Smith

Sarah Jasinski

Susan Derlunas

Laura Anderson

Regina Melito

Joann Johnson

Meagan Lamar

James “Jay” Jester

Malcolm E. Faust, Jr

Ann Doyle

Chaplain Richard “Chappy” Bower

Lee Myers

Mike Robinson

Alex Perricone